Maya’s New Husband by Neil D’Silva- Book Review

Title: Maya’s New Husband

Author: Neil D’Silva

Genre: Horror Thriller

Publisher: BruteGorilla

Publication Date: January 3, 2015

IMG-20170603-WA0036

Maya’s New Husband is an Indian horror thriller which hideously revolves around modernized world and hinterland parts of Mumbai, narrating the protagonist Maya Bhargava’s life who is an affable woman in thirties and by profession, a school teacher. Besides performing the quotidian pattern of her life, she is oblivious to the man, who lurks around her like a shadow attempting to draw her attention towards him. This book is a strange yet engaging combination of horror and myth with highly gory background.

The cover page of the book is so enticing, the black coloured background and the lady with vermillion being disseminated on her forehead, perfectly justifies the main theme of the novel. D’Silva has portrayed the characters of Maya and his animalistic husband in a flawless manner as the book has been divided in four parts and each part of the book unearths upcoming horrendous elements that makes the story fetching. Maya’s weird love and lust for Bhaskar Sadachari despite his ugliness flabbergasts and frightens readers at the same time and makes mull over the ‘What’s the next?’ factor, that makes novel one of the best thrillers I’ve ever read. I find Maya’s mother, Anuradha, the wisest character of the book whose motherly concern has been pictured deliberately and affectionately. The book is well defined and comprises of few characters and each contributing to the value of book, being protagonist to school peon.

The storyline showcases the mythical Aghori world and the rituals practised by Lord Shiva’s devotees, it is engrossed with the cannibalistic activities and rituals practised by them. The mythical touch to the Indian culture and the use of hindi words such as “vasna”, “mangalsutra” and “sindoor” etc. at some places makes it more appalling. The narration involves cutting of hearts, bone and flesh, hurtful marks carved by brass knuckles into thigh, and the description of awful rodents making way into body parts sends shivers down the spine.

For example, an excerpt from the book:

“With a mixed expression of anger and dejection, the man raised his other hand and flicked the creature with his long fingers; and it flew away with a sharp squeak, right into the pan.

Then he laughed as he saw the rat struggling in the midst of the frying meat, squeaking its last squeaks, which grew more and more painful as they increased, until it could squeak no more.

Will add flavor to the meal, he mumbled to himself.”

Another example:

“She looked closely at whatever remained of the face. One eye had already been eaten, a yellow slushy substance oozing out of the sockets, while the other eye was open and stared at her. One cheek had been torn, exposing the grotesque arrangement of the mandibles and teeth underneath. A rat was still gnawing at the pharynx, slowly nibbling at it, trying to pull it away from the throat of the unfortunate person.”

As quoted, the writing style is fresh, dreadful yet mind-boggling which makes us love and detest the things simultaneously. In terms of language, book is easily understandable but acquaints with a great plethora of words. The author has plotted incidents in such a magnetic manner that I felt hooked to the book till the end, either it be Bhaskar’s villainous demeanor or Maya’s chivalry.

The plot and story line doesn’t follow the vague ideas of invisible ghosts or shadows hidden behind the walls but gives an insight into the deviltry of humans itself in correspondence to Indian culture. Being a bibliophile, the book took me to a roller-coaster ride. It’s a must read for a horror genre lover and may be a hard read for people with feeble hearts, yet I’ll advise to pick, because it’s surely an unputdownable book once you start reading.

My Ratings: 5/5

You can buy the book on the link available below

PS: On one fine day, unexpectedly and luckily, I received this book on my door via courier from Sumitofficial and I can’t thank him enough for that. Sumit and I read the book together, discussed each and every chapter and had a wonderful experience. I also contacted the author Neil D’Silva via Facebook and expressed my happiness for reading the book and thanked him to write it. I look forward to read more of his works soon.

24 thoughts on “Maya’s New Husband by Neil D’Silva- Book Review

  1. Hello Shreya! Great to see the review of Maya’s New Husband here. You have done a wonderful job reviewing it, and I really appreciated the way you have shared excerpts from the book. Over and above everything else, a book must be an entertaining ride, and I am glad that MNH has worked for you that way.

    I hope you’d be able to read and review my other books too, for no other reason than you know your insights on them.

    Also, the comments from your visitors are a treat to read 🙂 Someone did a hex on you! Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Neil,
      Great to see you here. 🙂
      Thank you so much for appreciating the review. To be honest, I was reluctant to review it if I’d be able to justify it. I hope I did and I’m much satisfied after being admired by you.
      I will surely read other works and review them. 😊

      Oh yes, someone did a hex on me. 😁 Tried black magic but failed.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed it is fascinating and amazing. I’m glad you showed up to my review and liked it.
      Please let me know what you think about the book after reading! ❤️

      PS: liked your site title, seems you are bibliophile too, I’d surely visit your blog. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I certainly don’t know the hindi words described in the novel as you mentioned VASNA & BINDI. But I’ll make sure to buy this novel ASAP after reading your amazing review. Because I’m a master of black magic. I don’t want to come out of closet but yes I was the reason Hillary lost and Trump won. Still I see, Shreya Sharma if you hate anyone perticularly in your life. Anyone who is making your life miserable. Just ping their names in comment box. I will make sure to use my black magic. And by the way, I tried to use my black magic on you too. But It didn’t work out. Why haven’t you said that you’re the biggest witch in India? Anyways your witch life your witch choice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Sam!
      I’m glad that you liked my review and look forward to read this book ASAP. I’m sure you’d enjoy the book. And don’t bother for those hindi words as you’ll get their meanings in the glossary at the end of the book. 😊

      About black magic? Uhh, I am scared, did you try at me? Oh my God! But you failed! 😵
      Indeed, I am a great witch too. 😎😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

