Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte-Book Review 

Title: Jane Eyre
Author: Charlotte Brontë

Publisher: Smith, Elder & Co.

Publication date: 16 October 1847

Set in the period of nineteenth century, Charlotte Bronte writes the novel in the first narrative emphasizing the life of the female protagonist, Jane Eyre who fights indomitably with her miserly life full of hardships. Orphaned in the very childhood and grown up at her Aunt’s household at Gateshead, bearing all the atrocities imposed by her aunt and cousins, she is intellectual enough to fight for her justice even at a tender age. Unlike other classic romances, Jane Eyre is much more than that. The unique fact about the book being, it doesn’t follow the same pattern of any love story; the soothing air, gushing rains, dulcet melodies or lovers counting stars under the endless canopy. It describes more about the self-esteem, insuperable will power and maintaining dignity in life and relationships. 

Thrown by her aunt at Lowood Charity School, Jane Eyre fights alone, suffers and manages to earn respect in the campus and finally gets blessed by the friendship of Helen Burns. Sadly, as life is never kind to her, Helen Burns dies out of a disease; yet Jane has such nice perception to love and emotions being a child that she finds her camaraderie supporting her throughout life. She takes up a governess job at Thornsfield and performs her duty with complete dedication. Eyre is plain yet passionate. She believes in her principles, her values and no materialistic things. Charlotte has portrayed the character so well that you’ll fall in love with Jane despite her simplicity. As one of the quote says in book, 

“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

Jane Eyre falls in love with Mr. Rochester who is unlike any other romance story, is not a young,  charming or handsome character instead a dark and enigmatic person yet having a countenance pleasing to eye. Jane who never tasted love in her life, finds her duty, respect and the love of her life in him. Mr. Rochester is another provoking character in the novel who will make you think deeply about the life and its challenges. The book is completely different as Bronte does not use many romantic plots or scenes to define their love life. Bronte has described their intense conversations which will make anyone admire and connect to the kind of divine intimacy they share. Another moving point of the story is Jane always considers her courage and dignity before anything and she even denies the jewels and diamonds offered to her as love by Mr. Rochester and her hearts forces her to go away from him due to the harsh circumstances. She could have stayed easily and lived like a queen but still chooses the life full of struggles and deprivation on her own. Jane is a lovable and attractive character. She accepts whatever life offers her, never complaints to God, without expecting people’s sympathy. 

Bronte has used excellent use of literature undoubtedly. Nonetheless, the book is not at all so easy to read, but of course it’s an unputdownable one if you pick it up. This book is something that will make reader learn about spirituality, selflessness, love, perseverance and what not altogether. 

My Rating: 5/5

By Shreya Sharma

I read books and write poems. When I am doing nothing, I am sipping coffee.

38 comments

  1. You’re a LIAARRR!! 😑😑
    This review is soo GOOD.. No excellent.. Its amazing.. Nd you said you can’t write reviews 😐 *crying in literature* 😁
    Ohhk. Let it be.. The review is SUPERFINE nd don’t dare you say that you can’t write reviews.. This one was a beauty(I’ll have to learn from you)
    I’m not much into classics but now I’m gonna grab a copy of Jane Eyre nd read it all at once and remember it’s bcz of YOU.. ❤️
    *huff!!*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈
      Noooooo!! I’m not a lier haha… I just tried. Thanks a lot that you loved it. And even you did justice to your review. 😻😻 And yes, we’ll b writing more now.😊😊😇
      Thank you so much. And yes, read out Jane Eyre. You won’t ever regret. ❤😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Am terrible at reviewing books/movies, but appreciate people who can handle it so well, which is the test dose before the actual injection ( to know whether we could it or not, so that its a time saver too 🙂 ) best wishes! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was the same Josh. It’s my first review,I never thought myself to justify these great legend books. But this year, I took this resolution, I’m gonna write book review no matter what. 😁

        Like

  2. Shre…definitely will try to read this book..the comments from genuineoutlooks also tempts me a lot to read the independent mindset of jane..really wondering how could she leave her love…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Firstly, I am sooo sorry for checking this out soo late. 😬
    I loved the way you’ve expressed your love for this book, I haven’t read this book, but I feel it must be an amazing read. ☺☺ I could connect to your feelings for the book, the story sounds interesting, and it teaches you lessons for life too! I am going to read this for sure. 😇 And btw, you truly did justice to the book, by your this review.

    Love,
    Firefly. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Really liked your review! However, I think you forgot to mention how Jane in fact did not leave Mr. Rochester because of the harsh circumstances, but because she believed she wasn’t yet independent, if she stayed with Mr. Rochester, she would depend on him not only economically but “lovingly,” as she had to first learn to love herself. A great part of theme lies on independence and freedom, which is one thing Jane longs throughout her lifetime, something very uncommon for a woman in the ninteenth century.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes you are absolutely right. I misinterpreted it wrong or I would say, by “harsh circumstances”, I referred to Mr. Rochester’s wife Bertha issue. But yes, the main matter was only her concern for her independence and loving herself. Thank you so much for reading my review and providing the more relevant thing to me. I’ll update it soon as I don’t want my reader to get something out of the context.

      Much love ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Its alright! Everybody has their own interpretation of the content they read ❤ In fact, she partly left Mr. Rochester given the harsh circumstances. Your review is excellent, and gives a great picture of the book itself. Keep it up!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment